A Cyclone, Ear Problems And National Parks... - Reisverslag uit Darwin, Australië van Laura Mecredy - WaarBenJij.nu A Cyclone, Ear Problems And National Parks... - Reisverslag uit Darwin, Australië van Laura Mecredy - WaarBenJij.nu

A Cyclone, Ear Problems And National Parks...

Door: senorita Laura

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Laura

08 Maart 2007 | Australië, Darwin

Hey everybody,

We're on our last few hours in Australia now, 3 months have never gone by so fast before! We've had a great time here and I'm gonna miss this country. But Asia is next and I can't wait to go there.

We've spent our last 2 weeks in Cairns and Darwin. We spent a lot of our time in Cairns sorting out our travel plan for Asia, as we don't have a lot of time and we need to know exactly how long we're staying everywhere because of the visas. Cairns has got a good nightlife, so we went out a few times too.

We also went snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef on a day trip. We saw loads of fishes, including "Nemo" and the coral was really beautiful. I saw my very first turtle and I just lay there staring at it for a while, it was so amazing. And it got even better when it actually started moving and swimming around. Got a nice sunburn out of the snorkelling, hadn't realised you're legs are above the water and I was only wearing a short wetsuit! :p

We went for a trip to Cape Tribulation at the end of the week. We drove up there and visited a zoo and did a rainforest walk on the way. Then we had two nights up there. We walked through the rainforest there too and on the beach with lots of palm trees. On the way back we went on a croc cruise. We saw a few crocs and some snakes and frogs. One of the frogs we saw was actually inside a snake, the snake just had a nice dinner :p

From Cairns we flew to Darwin. Every time I fly I get checked at customs for something, apparently I look very criminal (Mijke doesn't, she never gets checked) and this time it was a swab sample for explosives...wonder what it will be tonight.:p It was really hot when we got here at nine pm, but the next day the cyclone came along and it rained....and it rained some more....and some more... We had planned a three-day trip to Kakadu national park and a one-day trip to Litchfield national park, but because of the rain they kept cancelling on us.

On our second night in Darwin I went to the doctor because I'd been having ear problems for a while. And I wanted to get it checked out before going to Asia. The news was a lot worse than I had expected, I had a bad ear infection and was put on antibiotics and wouldn't be allowed to fly (he wasn't very happy that I'd flown the day before) We couldn't do a lot but wait for my next check-up, and because it was Sunday we couldn't sort out our tickets and visa.
On Monday we checked what to do if I had to stay and in the evening I was back at the doctor. Apparently the hole in my eardrum that I got fixed two years ago is back. Wasn't very happy to hear that, but it did mean I'm allowed to fly again. Just have loads of antibiotics with me and I can't swim for the rest of my trip.

After a few days the rain wasn't so bad anymore so we were able to do a two-day Kakadu trip. The park was very beautiful; we went to some waterfalls and saw aboriginal cave artwork that was up to 20000 years old! So I took loads of pictures of it all, I'll put some with this post.

Today we've sorted out all the last things we had to do. And now it's just waiting at the airport tonight to fly to a different world that will be our home for the next 3,5 months. When we get to Bali my sister Sarah will be there to greet us as she is travelling with us through Indonesia. I haven't seen her for 5,5 months now, so that will be really good :D:D

Ciao Ciao,
Laura
P.S. Tot morgenochtend Sarita!! :D

  • 08 Maart 2007 - 07:59

    Saskia:

    Hoi Lau, toch lekker weer eerst, veel plezier met Saar in Indonesië

  • 08 Maart 2007 - 08:31

    Nicholas:

    Hi, well I seem to be 2nd. Sarah is on her way, if a bit delayed. Hope you all get together soon in Bali

  • 08 Maart 2007 - 08:33

    Mariette:

    Hoi Laura,

    Geweldig weer!!! Wat een verhalen, je oor natuurlijk wat minder. Geniet er daarom maar niet minder van! Veel plezier nog.

    Groetjes Mariëtte

  • 08 Maart 2007 - 13:43

    Miranda:

    Hoi Laura,

    Het klinkt allemaal weer geweldig, behalve dat gedoe met je oor. Ik hoop dat dat snel over gaat. Veel plezier met Sarah in Azie. Van Esmée moet ik je even vertellen dat zij op zwemles zit!!
    Groetjes,
    Miranda en Esmée

  • 12 Maart 2007 - 19:44

    Henny:

    Weer een leuk verslag. Ik heb Sarah pas nog ontmoet in Barcelona. We hebben een hele leuke rondleiding gehad en het was heel gezellig. Ik ben benieuwd hoe jullie Bali vinden. Misschien heb je straks nog wat tips voor me, want ik zit er in juli. Zoals het er nu naar uitziet, kan in juni wel even tussendoor naar schiphol om me aan te sluiten bij het ontvangstcommitee.

    groeten,

    Henny

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Laura

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 330
Totaal aantal bezoekers 32450

Voorgaande reizen:

10 September 2006 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: